About Me

The most basic things you must know about me...

Last year I finished up my seventh and final year of coaching 7th and 8th grade volleyball.  Now I'm heading back into the classroom full time to teach 8th grade Math and Pre-AP Algebra.  Middle schoolers aren't always the monsters most people envision them to be - most days I even enjoy their company and presence in my room!
Especially on the days when we have Dodgeball tournaments.

I married my best-friend (and former co-worker!) on March 13, 2010.  He is a middle school PE coach and coaches 7th and 8th grade girls basketball.

I have one daughter, Natalie and two pups, Angie and Ajax.

I started this blog many moons ago to write about my life as the sole single gal in my network of very married friends. 

My favorite color is turquoise.  My bathroom, living room, child's room and classroom are all in varying shades of turquoise.  It's becoming a problem.

If I had to choose a last meal, I would have my mother make Thanksgiving dinner with cornbread dressing and green bean casserole.  

And on that note, I don't like my food to touch.  I'm THAT girl at restaurants requesting an extra plate for ketchup because I don't like it spreading and contaminating my other food.

I'm not graceful.  The running joke with all the principals that I've worked for is my frequency of worker's comp claims: two sprained ankles (one while 8 months pregnant), one falling down the stairs (the worst part - I broke my favorite high heels) and finally an almost broken nose.

I'm really, really good at Math.  I might have been on the basketball team in high school, but I was no dumb jock.  I have the Mu Alpha Theta (the Math Honor Society) t-shirt to prove it.  I continually have to fight the "coach" stigma that goes along with being a coach in the classroom.  

The house that I own with my husband is only the second house that I've ever lived in.  I grew up in the same house that my parents still live in to this day.  And I'm pretty much okay with staying here for.....ever.

I struggled with PPD (mostly anxiety and OCD) after I had Natalie.  It wasn't until she was 4.5 months old that I really felt like I *enjoyed* being a mother.  And that's okay.  I love being her mother now and that's all that matters.

I've been to Europe three times: to Italy with my parents in Spring 2006, to Amsterdam, Munich, Berlin and London with my high school buddy Kristin in June 2007 and finally to Paris, Torino and Rome with the hubs in August 2010.  

My mother speaks three languages fluently (French, Italian and English).  I have a working knowledge of French (enough to order all our meals and such in Paris) and I know all the bad words in Italian.

One time when I was growing up I asked my mother what was ONE word she would use to describe me.  

She chose.......COMPLEX.

I was a little insulted but she's right.  I act real tough but have to leave the room during ASPCA commercials.  I'm fairly mainstream but am not easily swayed by what other people do.  I spend my days in shorts and t-shirts but you'll find my closet full of fabulous high heels....that I never wear.  I am OCD about cleanliness and organization but yet I hire someone to clean my house (and I'm not ashamed of it).  I live in Texas and was raised Catholic but I've never voted for a Republican.

The sole reason I write this blog is as an outlet for myself.  A place to vent my thoughts, my fears and my triumphs.  An easy way to record the events in my family's life that will hopefully serve as a treasured memory for Natalie someday.

No comments: